Reckless driving causes many injuries and deaths on Michigan roads each year. What makes these tragedies even worse is that many of these accidents could have been easily prevented if common sense and good driving judgment had been used. In addition, many more could be prevented if concerned motorists immediately report reckless driving to law enforcement.
For example, just recently the Michigan State Police are investigating a reckless driving incident in Mason County stemming from multiple hit and run crashes. Troopers say Mason-Oceana 911 received several calls from motorists regarding a reckless driver who was dangerously traveling west on US-10 in the eastbound lanes. Troopers said that their preliminary investigation found that a 2014 Ford Explorer initially struck two separate parked cars at the Scottville Wesco before fleeing the scene and traveling west on US-10 towards Ludington.
Motorists observed the Explorer drifting back and forth from the oncoming eastbound lanes of US-10 to the westbound lanes and shoulder of US-10. Troopers say witnesses reported seeing the driver crash into the back of a moving commercial truck and trailer, which had been traveling in the right lane of westbound US-10 just west of Stile Road in Amber Township.
After colliding with the moving truck, the Explorer’s driver lost control, crossed over five lanes of traffic, drove off the road to the left, and came to a stop in a marsh.
What is Reckless Driving?
Michigan Statute § 257.626(2) defines reckless driving as when a person operates a vehicle on a highway “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” This is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. The statute provides that if reckless driving causes the death of another person, it’s a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not less than $2,500.00 or more than $10,000.00, or both.
Reckless driving applies to many different types of dangerous driving, and includes the following:
How Do I Report a Reckless Driver in Michigan?
To report a reckless driver in Michigan, motorists and other witnesses should call 9-1-1—not the Michigan State Police or the local police department. Be sure to give the dispatcher as many details as you can, such as the make/model of the vehicle, the license plate number, the direction the reckless driver is traveling, the behavior of the driver or actions of the vehicle, and a description of the driver.
When you provide this information, the 9-1-1 dispatcher will contact the nearest law enforcement officer to make an emergency response, such police, fire, ambulance, and/or MDOT or road commission personnel.
Reporting reckless drivers helps to prevent serious, avoidable crashes on our Michigan roadways.
If you or a family member has been injured or killed in an auto accident caused by a reckless driver, speak to an experienced auto accident attorney in Michigan. The Buchanan Firm proudly serves people all across Michigan, including major cities like Grand Rapids, Muskegon, Detroit, Lansing, Holland, St. Joe, and Ann Arbor, and rural towns such as Lowell, Ada, Fremont, Newaygo, Grand Haven, Rockford, and Cedar Springs.
We will meet you after-hours, at home or in the hospital, to accommodate you.
Contact The Buchanan Firm today!